Hug a Teacher

The best days are those when a child actually gives a real response to the everyday questions, “How was your day?”

This unbelievable occurrence happened in my household on February 28th at approximately 3:11 p.m.

I notated the date and time because it is a rarity.  Rarer than the talking dog from the film Up.  Rarer than my husband likes his steak.  Rarer than me being on time for an event.  I am talking rare, my friends.

Since my oldest has hit middle school, he arrives home before the rest of the household.  He usually has about 10 minutes before I get there. Most of the time I find him watching The Family Guy on Netflix (he has been instructed since the beginning of time to start his homework, alas it doesn’t happen often without prompting).  This was different.  The TV was silent and the dude was sitting at the computer looking something up on Google.

“How was your day?” I asked.

“It was OK,” he answered.  A typical response at our house.

“That’s good.  Anything else going on?” I questioned, hoping he may add something to the conversation.

“Mom, you know what?”

I turned, shocked that I was actually asked a question!  “What, kiddo?”

“It stinks that it is the end of February.  I liked February.”

My mind raced trying to think of why… Maybe it was because he had one of the leads in our community theater’s production of Willy Wonka (he was Mike TV, appropriately) and we were heading into the final weekend of the show? Maybe because snow days are fewer in March? Maybe because a free Pokemon download wasn’t available after February at Game Stop?  Maybe I should just ask him?  Yeah.  That’s the ticket.

“So, why did you like February?”

“We learned a lot this month in Social Studies.  We learned about all sorts of people I had never heard of,” he replied looking a little melancholy.

“Really?  That’s awesome!” I exclaimed, excited that he is actually absorbing what he has been taught. Then, curiously, I added, “Who was the person you liked learning about the best?”

“Ella Fitzgerald.  She was very talented.  She was an inspiration,” he answered without hesitation.

“Wow, I’m impressed,” I said.

“I know, right?  Who knew February would be such a great month in Social Studies!” he said, jumping onto Minecraft on his iPod.

“So true,” I said as I began humming a little Ella.

I will be hugging his teacher soon.  For sure.

And he is back on technology. Again.

And he is back on technology. Again.

19 thoughts on “Hug a Teacher

  1. To quote Willy Wonka himself: “And so shines a good deed in a weary world.”

    How wonderful that learning about Ella Fitzgerald had that affect on him and how wonderful that he took it a step farther and told you about it. If that doesn’t warm the heart of a parent, I don’t know what will. :)

    • Love the Willy Wonka quote, Carrie! Perfect!

      He really liked the unit in Social Studies. It seemed like the teacher really related it to the kids, and I love it when that happens! Absolutely warms the heart! :)

  2. How wonderful! You have to cherish the moments when they reveal something- I remember car rides (doctor appt, music lessons, etc.) as being prime time to usually get some information.

  3. Ella Fitzgerald, how wonderful. I bet you were just as surprised by that answer as you were by there being an exchange in the first place. His teacher must be pretty impressive. I think you should give her a hug for all of us.

  4. I love it!! Now is the time to play all of her songs and tell him why she had a gift that hasn’t been heard since…the woman had an unbelievable range..of course, what 12 year cares! LOL!

  5. From a teacher to a teacher: don’t we all want hugs?

    It is great when both a student and a parent value our work and find relevance in real life.

    Great story. I bet your students’ parents have one or two of those they could share, too about experiences from your class…

    • We do like hugs! ;)
      I would love to hear a perspective from one of my students about my teaching as told to their parents. We just finished The Scarlet Letter and had wonderful, eye-opening discussions.
      Teachers are awesomesauce!

  6. Now that is a great story! I’m so glad you had that nice chat with your son about his day. My own son is only 7 and yet since he was 3 and in preschool he just hasn’t enjoyed talking about his day either. I definitely understand your enthusiasm in the opening paragraphs! :) I do have a daughter as well, and she tells me enough for the both of them, so that’s how I get my news. Hooray for moms who ask questions! May we be blessed with lots of answers, however they arrive.

    • Absolutely! Sometimes the answers are few and far between, but I love when there are little gems to pull from them about their day. Of course, this past week has been the answer “fine” each and every time I try to bring up school. Sigh.

Leave a Reply

