It’s Snow Fair

It’s snow fair when other schools all around me have snow days and we don’t.  It’s snow fair when we have a winter without a snow day.  It’s snow fair this year.

Usually, a snow-covered, wintery weekday morning goes like this: It is early.  The sun hasn’t even decided if it is going to show itself (and it probably won’t because it is winter in Ohio).  The alarm clock hasn’t made its deafening sound to frighten me out of bed.  The cat is nestled cozily sleeping next to me.  And then, the phone rings.

Here is what immediately goes through my mind:  Whose school is calling?  Please let it by my school!

And then I speak those precious words, “Whose school is calling?”  I say to my sleeping husband, The Captain.

He checks the called ID and says the horrible words, “Mine.”

Crapola.  That means that he is off or has a delay and I have to go in at the regular time. We teach at two different districts, so this is a common thing during the winter.

Sadly, this morning occurence has only happened once this season.  At it was not for my district.  Ugh.

So I am begging, pleading for Mother Nature to send us a snow day.  Just one little snow day.  Because teaching a bunch of teenagers who act as if it’s the week before spring break, and yet it is not quite March, is sheer torture.  Spring break weather needs to be reserved for spring break time.  Not February.  Plus, my little dudes at home and I would really like to go skiing, sledding or even just build a snowman.  To be fair, that is what winter is all about.

And, if we don’t get one, in the words of my students, “It will be, like, oh my God, so snow fair.”

Even Squishy would love a snow day. This snow was from Christmas break. Go figure!

8 thoughts on “It’s Snow Fair

  1. I’m liking your post but I have to admit that I will take our weather today over a snow day even if it means I have to work. But one tomorrow would be nice… 🙂

  2. I’m not a teacher, but I’m soooo with you on this one!!! I *love* snow days! Well, that is until the kids wake up! But I love them because then *I* don’t have to get up and go anywhere, and I can lounge around the house being lazy! It’s absolutely “snow fair” that my area of Minnesota hasn’t had but one snow day this whole winter!

    • Snow days are such unexpected surprises, and I love them, too! We had 60 degree weather yesterday, and back to the 30s today. Hope our areas both get a little snow day soon! 🙂

Comment, reply, critique or send hugs!

