Spider-Man, Superheroes and Me

I love superheroes and I love superhero movies.  I get excited about the new ones ready to grace the silver screen.

Apparently, this is strange for an almost 40 year old woman to clap and cheer in a movie theater when a trailer for The Avengers comes on. According to The Captain, it is very embarrassing for an almost 40-year-old woman to react “strongly” at a clip of a superhero movie.  Cranky Captain.

Basically, The Captain thinks my love of superheroes is somewhat strange.

Underwear that was fun to wear. Photo from Wikipedia.org

I blame my brother.  He had the coolest superhero stuff when we were kids.  He had tons of action figures.  He had a red cape that was as majestic to me as a holiday Barbie.  He had it all.  He also had these super cool Underoos with various comic book characters on them.  There was a Batman pair, a Robin pair, a Superman pair, and, of course, a Spider-Man pair.  The girl’s Underoos basically stunk.  They only had flowers or butterflies on them or, sometimes, the elusive Wonder Woman pair would be found at Target or Venture and my mom would pick those up for me.  But sadly, there were barely any other superhero ones for girls.  Later I found that the makers of Underoos realized there was, in fact, a solid girl’s market and began making Supergirl, Princess Leia, and even Batgirl ones.  Wish I had those… Bummer.

Here he is. Photo credit: film.com

I blame my mom.  My mom, Crazy Pat, took us to all of the Superman movies starring Christopher Reeve.  I was riveted.  I would sit there, barely even touching my popcorn, as I watched the man in red and blue save the day.  I may have even teared up when Superman was thrown into the Coke sign in Times Square.  I was so thankful when he got himself out of that mess.

I blame Batman.  In high school, I was the best girl to take to the movies.  I was more than willing to sit through all of the Batman movies (Val Kilmer, if you are out there in blog land, you were and always will be my favorite Batman).

I blame Marvel Comics.  They created the Amazing Spider-Man, which happen to be my favorite of all the supers.  It could happen, right?  It could be marginally possible, right?  A regular dude could be bitten by a radioactive spider and develop super powers could be, right?  Well, maybe not, but that may be a small reason why love the Spider-Man movies.  The other reason?  Tobey Maguire makes a very convincing Spidey.  And when the Spider-Man movies are on TV, even though I own them all, I am drawn to them like a fly to a web.

Spidey himself. Photo credit: wikipedia.org

So, I anxiously await The Avengers movie.  I am on the edge of my seat about the new Spider-Man film.  And I think I may owe Stan Lee a high five because he is a cool dude.  If only they had some Spider-Man Underoos for me, I would be all set.

Oh, and to The Captain, can I get a “woot woot” and a “hooray” and even a “yee haw” for the new movies?  No?  Oh well.  I will have to send Spider-Man to deal with you.  (Maniacal laugh goes here!)

30 thoughts on “Spider-Man, Superheroes and Me

  1. I totally had those WonderWoman underoos!! They were silky and awesome!! I can’t resist watching Superman when it comes on TNT. And like you, I blame my brother! There is nothing un-cool about superheroes!

  2. It’s fitting your post was about superheroes, because it showed up in my blog reader five times. Wow, what superpower lets you pull that off?!

    My son would think you are the coolest mom ever. In fact, he’s in the other room now watching a “Smallville” episode (don’t worry, Teach, his homework is done. 🙂 ) Actually, I’m looking forward to the “Avengers” too, more for that wonderful cast.

    • I love Smallville, too! You have a cool kid, Carrie! I am not sure why the post showed up a zillion times in the reader. Maybe because it knew I was getting on an airplane and going on vacation. Who knows! 🙂

  3. My sons loved the He-Man and She-Ra books– I hated them- they were so repetitive and boring to read. They could find them in the library before they knew how to read. I begged the librarian to get rid of them but she wouldn’t. When she finally put them in the discard pile, I bought them for 25 cents each. I used them in teaching to show what can get kids reading and loving books. Then we moved on to Ninja Turtles and had to have the figures and underwear and I made them capes. Nice post, fun memories.

    • He-Man and She-Ra books! I totally forgot about those – my brother really liked them, too. You are a good mom to make capes – I may try and do that this summer (of course I need one, too!)

  4. OMG, I didn’t even KNOW about those cool underoos. I wish I could get them for my daughter!
    I’m apprehensive about the Avengers. I haven’t seen a preview yet. But I LOVED LOVED the Iron Man movies, and the rest of them just didn’t measure up for me. I think that having someone as charsimatic as RDJr playing one of the heroes made the rest of them pale in comparison.
    But I have to admit, I’m not a super hero movie gal overall. I have ALWAYS loved Batman though.
    but there’s another thing! Why do they keep trying to ruin catwoman!?!?

  5. I can’t get enough Jean day Friday!!

    I think I had those underoos. Yes, I’m serious.

    When I read this, I had to nominate you for another award. Sick of that yet?
    I know that these award thingies are going around the bologsphere faster than the flu at my house or than Heather West got around at my high school, but I hope you’ll accept the “versatile blogger” award from me! If someone’s asking me about my favorite blogs I am sure as hell not leaving you off my list.

    http://offdutymom.wordpress.com/2012/04/10/thank-you/

  6. You’re not alone! I love all the “boy stuff” too. Superheroes, fantasy, sci fi, I’m all over it. My husband thinks it’s great. I went to the midnight showings of all of the Lord of the Rings, Star Wars and probably a few others I’ve forgotten. 🙂 Personally, I prefer the Batman Begins take to the old Val Kilmer one, but I guess I can forgive you on that one! 🙂

  7. Stop. I, too, had the wonder woman underroos. But I guess that they weren’t enough, because I left the world of superheroes and gave it up for good. Sorry. Can we still be friends?

  8. I love that you are a superhero kind of gal. It must be on some primitive level that we get so involved in a GOOD versus EVIL plot? I can get that way myself. As a kid I used to watch all of the original black and white Superman episodes on TV. I also love the Christopher Reeve ones.
    So here’s to conquering evil and beating up the bad guy!
    Have a great weekend!

  9. So glad I’m not the only one looking forward to The Avengers! I told my own husband and I thought he was going to fall over! Mark Ruffalo as The Incredible Hulk??? Who could beat that???

    By the way…I was always jealous of my brother’s cool Underoos, too! Shhhhh…

  10. I am, and always will be, a superhero fan. Love them all! I am soo excited to see the Avengers, which is now out, but I have to wait until a free second shows up in my life. So glad to hear all these others who have great taste!!

Comment, reply, critique or send hugs!

