The Red Plate

In 2007, my mom, Crazy Pat, bought me one single set of red dishes.  It contained a red plate, red bowl, red teacup and red side plate.  As strange as this sounds, she had a reason for the purchase.

Before I get into the story, I need to fill in a little background on Crazy Pat.  Crazy Pat is very happy 99.999% of the time.  She is someone who, if given the opportunity, would dot each “i” with a heart, and doodle grapes and puppies on any paper within reach.   She is rainbows and roses, and always looks at the bright side of life.

The red plate. A must-have for every household.

She read somewhere about a tradition where for every celebration, the birthday girl, the graduate, the promotion, uses the red plate.  It is the celebration plate.

And she bought me a set.

The red plate has graced our table for different occasions ever since.

When I received Teacher of the Year in 2008 and 2010, the red plate was out and ready to celebrate (and even the subject of the acceptance speech for the 2010 win).

When The Captain celebrated his 45th birthday, the red plate graced the table.  He has requested it to not come out for any more of his birthdays.

When String Bean brought home all As, the red plate revealed itself.

Even when Squishy got his tree on Arbor Day, the red plate came to dinner.

In the summer, the red plate really hasn’t made an entrance onto the sacred kitchen table.  So, in honor of it being Friday, I am going to make a fun plate of appetizers and serve them to everyone on the celebratory red plate.

Red wine. A must-have for Fridays.

Happy Friday.  Time to get out the red plate, grab a glass of red wine and celebrate the arrival of the weekend.  TGIF and cheers to red plates!

38 thoughts on “The Red Plate

  1. What a clever idea! I hope you don’t mind, but I just may need to take up that tradition. So simple, yet such a nice way to recognize someone’s accomplishment. (But I’m with your hubby on the birthday thing 🙂 )

    Congrats on being named Teacher of the Year. Twice! 🙂

    • Please do! It is such an easy way to celebrate special things (besides The Captain’s birthday!)

      And thanks for the Teacher of the Year congrats. I will have to share the story on that sometime soon. Right now, I am sleeping late, drinking too much coffee (and wine), getting too much sun and trying not to think about back to school looming in less than five weeks! 😉

  2. I am so glad that you use the red plate and have turned it into a family tradition! It’s always nice to know that your child is “Doing what Momma says”. Thanks for celebrating amazing accomplishments!

  3. What a great idea! My plates are all black, maybe adding red for celebrations (other than those plastic ones you throw away) would be a wonderful idea.

    I love that you have won teacher of the year! Twice!!! My heart mother won this award several times during her career and we always cheered!

  4. What a lovely tradition. I like the way your mother thinks. My whole set of dishes is red so maybe I will have to get one place setting of white dishes.

  5. Now, get a white cup and a blue saucer and you’ll be ready for the fourth of July. Go black and orange for Halloween. 🙂

    You know, knowing you’re a teacher makes me conscious of how I write my replies. Funny, huh? Here I am, 46 years old, a construction worker, father of four boys, and worried how I reply to a stranger’s blog. Hah!

  6. We SO need to have a red plate occasion! And soon!!! 🙂 How about to celebrate the release of the AWESOME VIDEO You edited for us???? 🙂 Huh? huh??? 😉 You rock star, you! 🙂 LOVE YOU!

  7. First things first, why the heck am I not getting notified of your posts!!! It’s making me mad.
    Second, I LOVE this idea of the red plate. What a great family tradition. I think I’ll steal it, if that’s okay? haha!

    • Please feel free to become a red plate celebration family! 🙂
      I don’t know why my posts aren’t getting to you. WordPress has been a little strange this summer. I will research this and see what I can find out.

  8. Wow, I totally have a red plate. Two of them, actually, that say, “You are special today.” Only we use them everyday. Maybe that’s good… maybe I should actually relegate them for special purposes.

Comment, reply, critique or send hugs!

